Oakmont Invite features some of area’s best runners

Race set for Saturday morning at Maidu Park
By: Nick Pecoraro
-A +A

ROSEVILLE-- A majority of boys and girls cross-country teams will begin their seasons Saturday at the annual Oakmont Invitational at Maidu Park in Roseville.


Nearly three dozen teams on all three levels will be represented in the 4,000-meter run, which features a variety of different types of terrains.


In the 2017 version of the Oakmont 4K, Rocklin, Woodcreek and Placer took the Top 3 spots for the boys varsity while St. Francis, Woodcreek and Vista del Lago finished in the same order for the girls.


Plenty of top individual finishers from last year return this season, including some of the best from the entire Sac-Joaquin Section. Woodcreek features two runners who placed in the Top 10 at Oakmont last season in Peter Pagel, who finished second overall to Nevada Union’s Garrett Gough, and Lucas Reeves, who placed seventh.

Lisa Irvine also finished second for the Timberwolves’ girls team behind only Sydney Vandegrift, who graduated from St. Francis this past spring.

Two Rocklin runners, Trevor Asbury and Bennett Woodward finished second- and third, respectively in 2017, while Emma Bickford placed fourth for the Thunder girls.

Just a handful of noteworthy Oakmont Invite veterans to look for Saturday include Vikings’ senior Landon Shea, Del Oro seniors Brayden McLaughlin and Alissa Pessin, Placer seniors Connor Ryan, Jesus Guerra-Reyes and Kelsey Griffin, Rocklin seniors Shane and Pearl Burton, Granite Bay seniors Joseph Kennedy and Mia Taylor, Western Sierra junior Sara Sabra, Woodcreek junior Samantha Barry, Colfax seniors Connor Vrooman and Sierra Hagen, Whitney senior Rachel Payan and Lincoln senior Saedy Williamson.

The Top 3 teams will earn medals as well as the Top 40 individual finishers at the varsity level. The girls varsity is scheduled first at 8 a.m., with the boys varsity to follow 30 minutes later. Sophomore boys begin at 9 a.m. Frosh/soph girls will go at 9:30 a.m. Freshman boys start at 10 a.m. and JV girls and boys will start at 10:30- and 11 a.m., respectively.