Flock of Falcons make all-PVL football team

-A +A

School-record-setting running back Pat Rawlins heads the list of eight Colfax High players who were named to the 2009 all-Pioneer Valley League football team by a selection of the league’s coaches.
Rawlins, a senior tailback who set records for rushing yards in a game, a season and a career this past season, was selected as a first-team running back and one of four Colfax players who earned first team honors.
He was joined on the first all-PVL first squad by offensive guard Adam Pugh, defensive linemen Daniel Stephens and linebacker Tom Baldoni. Both Pugh and Stephens are seniors while Baldoni, a second-year varsity player, is a junior.
Four more Colfax players earned second team honors for their efforts this season, including defensive back Matt Price, running back David Schweitzer and offensive lineman C.J. Topper.
Placer, the league runner-up led the first team selections with nine picks while PVL champion Lincoln was next with six.
Lincoln lineman Jacob Tryon was the Defensive Player of the Year while Placer running back Asher Gotzmer was the Offensive Player of the Year.
Lincoln’s Ken Lowe, who directed the Zebras from a 1-9 season in 2008 to an 11-1 2009 campaign and a league title, is the league’s Coach of the Year.
All-PVL Football
1st Team Offense
— Craig Hackland, Bear River; Adam Pugh, Colfax; Iam Joseph, El Dorado; John Johnson, Lincoln; Jake Styler, Placer; Brandon Pope, Placer; Eathan May, Whitney.
Quarterback — Colin Burnett, Placer.
Running Backs — Pat Rawlins, Colfax; Chris Haskins, El Dorado, Moses Stanley, Lincoln; Sir Johnson, Mesa Verde; Shawn Azam, Whitney.
Tight End — Josh Klem, Placer.
Wide Receivers — Andre Jenkins, Mesa Verde; Cameron Southward, Placer.

1st Team Defense
Def. Line
— Colby Angus, Bear River; Daniel Stephens, Colfax; Juan Castillo, Lincoln; Mike Gray, Placer; Connor Mckenzie, Placer; Michael Nordman, Whitney; Alex Chernyy, Whitney.
Linebackers — Cole White, Bear River; Tom Baldoni, Colfax; Danny Walsh, Lincoln; Brett Lenz, Placer; Shane Feurbach, Whitney; Connor Riordan, Whitney.
Defensive Backs — Johnny Jewitt, Bear River; Dylan Croisant, Lincoln; Aaron Maddox, Placer.

MVP Defense — Jacob Tryon, Lincoln.
MVP Offense — Asher Gotzmer, Placer.
Coach of the Year — Ken Lowe, Lincoln.