Future Class of 2012 heads to high school

Colfax Elementary School graduates 33 eighth-graders
-A +A
Colfax Elementary School District held commencement ceremonies for its class of 2012 at Colfax Elementary on June 7. The community honored the 33 graduates who received diplomas during the evening celebration. Outstanding students were also recognized. The American Legion Awards for academic excellence and leadership went to Willow Preston and Alec Shafer. The recipients of the Gold Country Lioness Awards for community service were Matthew Hinrichs and Madisen Minyard. Caden Perrier was the recipient of the Veterans of Foreign Wars and Ladies Auxiliary Award for citizenship, diligence and application to duties. The Scholar Athlete Awards sponsored by KDM Awards went to Kyra Heimann and Kylee Bauer. The Kiwanis Club of Greater Colfax Hope of America Awards for scholarship, leadership and high moral character were presented to Lillian Cross and Kyra Heimann. The Colfax City Council recognition awards were presented to Student Council Officers Kyra Heimann, Kylee Bauer, Lillian Cross and Kelcey Howeth. Alec Shafer and Kelcey Howeth received the Zoe? Kreizenbeck Memorial Scholarships as ideal members of the school community. The Soroptimist International of Colfax Award for scholarship, leadership and community service was presented to Alyssa Gibbs. The Association of Parents and Teachers Award for excellence in the arts went to Lisa Vivilacqua. The Principal?s Award for achievement while overcoming obstacles was presented to Benjamin Bittaker. Kelcey Howeth received the Superintendent?s Award for excellence and achievement above and beyond the classroom. The recipient of the Lions Club International of Colfax Math and Science Award was Seth Lawrence. The Lions Club International of Colfax Award for the highest grade-point average over four years went to Kylee Bauer. Each year, the President of the United States recognizes graduates with the President?s Award for Educational Excellence. To qualify for this award, a student must have attained a grade point average of 3.5 or higher over four years. In addition, a student must score Advanced in math or reading on recent standardized testing or receive the recommendation of their teacher and one other staff member. Recipients of the 2012 President?s Award for Educational Excellence were Kelcey Howeth , Matthew Hinrichs, Willow Preston, Kylee Bauer, Seth Lawrence, Alyssa Gibbs and Kyra Heimann. Graduates who attend Colfax Elementary School District continuously from kindergarten through eighth grade are recognized at graduation as ?Survivors.? The Survivors in the class of 2012 are Kylee Bauer, Alyssa Gibbs, Jon Haubrich, Kyra Heimann, Matthew Hinrichs, Scott North, Willow Preston, Ashley Scott, Alec Shafer, Cori Jo Stark, Reese Williamse and Michael Wolfe. COLFAX ELEMENTARY SCHOOL CLASS OF 2012 Jaime Anderson Sean Barfield Kylee Bauer Benjamin Bittaker Lillian Cross Lacey Duncan Chase Durand Jack Elkin Alyssa Gibbs Jon Haubrich Kyra Heimann Matthew Hinrichs Shauna Holderfield Kelcey Howeth Seth Lawrence Karley McCrary Madisen Minyard Scott North Caden Perrier Kylie Phillips Renae Polkownikow Willow Preston Lukas Rineer Ashley Scott Alec Shafer Charisma Singleton Jacob Stager Cori Stark Hannah Stratton Holly Stratton Lisa Vivilacqua Reese Williamse Michael Wolfe