Harraka wins race, Bowles takes title at Speedway

Roseville's Eric Schmidt finishes second
By: Jeannie Broussal, Special to The Press Tribune
-A +A
Paulie Harraka once again showed what a talented driver he is. The newly crowned NASCAR Camping West World Series 2009 Sunoco Rookie-of-the-Year took the green flag from the pole position, and went on in his usual stunning fashion, leading every lap but one to win the Toyota/Copart 150 race Saturday at All American Speedway in Roseville. The victory is Harraka's second CWWS win in the last three races. "This is great," Harraka said after winning the race. "I definitely had the car to do it. The car was good enough that I could run it easy in the beginning and still hold onto the lead. As time wore on, everybody else wore out their stuff and I was able to keep up my pace. That really showed because everybody just dropped off a lot more than we did. I was able to stretch out a pretty big lead at the end." No. 34 Eric Schmidt was the only driver able to get close to Harraka. The Roseville-based driver moved steadily through the field going from eighth to second in the first 60 laps. Schmidt, the 2008 NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model champion at AAS, challenged Harraka on several occasions, even leading one lap, but in the end he was unable to catch the leader and had to settle for second. No. 6 Jason Bowles needed only to finish 16th or better to secure the 2009 CWWS championship. No. 20 Eric Holmes, the 2008 CWWS champion and the only driver who could possibly bump Bowles out of the top spot, broke a brake line early in the race, causing him to get together with No. 21 Blake Koch and ending his dream of a repeat. Bowles finished the race in third. "I had no brakes," Holmes said. "I feel really bad about getting in to the No. 21. It was nothing he did, just bad luck. The brakes were fine, then I went down the front straightaway and went into turn one and got on the brakes and no brakes, the pedal hit the floor.” Holmes exited the track for repairs and came back 38 laps down. He succeeded in picking off the field one-by-one, but then got a flat tire and went back to the pits. "It just wasn't our year. It wasn't our night," Holmes said. "Just bad luck." Bill McAnally driver No. 16 Moses Smith ran a good race all night and finished fifth. "The car was awesome," Smith said. "We had a little too much rear brake bias and I chattered the rear end going into turn two and that let a couple guys get by. I think we were faster, but we just didn't have enough to get by. It was a good race. It was fun. We were in the thick of thing the whole time." No. 26 Greg Pursley had a good race running in the top five all night and finishing third. In other racing news from All American Speedway: KCRA's Brian Hickey started from the rear and then one-by-one picked off his competitors to take the checkered flag in the A-All Mini Storage Media Blitz 100, presented by Comcast. Hickey was presented with a $1,000 winner's check to go to his charity of choice, A Touch of Understanding, which goes to schools and brings able-bodied and disabled people together. "I can't thank Bill McAnally enough for the chance to get behind the wheel of one of his cars," Hickey said. "It's a dream come true for this NASCAR fan. To take the checkered flag in front of friends, family, and my Dad the retired stock car driver was amazing. A Touch of Understanding deserves the $1,000 dollar prize money and Riebes Auto Parts matched the winnings for a $2,000 donation. I am honored to be a part of this charity." Assemblyman Ted Gaines gave Hickey something to worry about as he charged hard to catch him. 101.9 The Wolf's Dave Kelly came in third, Channel 13's Dave Bender fourth, CW Channel 13 television's Mark S. Allen fifth, and Bob Moffitt of KBFK finished sixth. Mark Demsky of Fox 40 KHTK radio crashed his car in practice Friday night and did not race, but was on hand, crashed car and all, to celebrate in the pre-race ceremonies. Tanner Swanson won the USAC Western Sprint Car race and the USAC Western Midget Car race at AAS, and Lincoln's Tony Hunt finished second in the Sprint Car race. USAC WESTERN SPRINT CAR FEATURE RACE RESULTS: (50 laps) 1. Tanner Swanson, 2. Tony Hunt, 3. Audra Sasselli, 4. Scott Pierovich, 5. Brian McClish, 6. Tyler Walker, 7. Shauna Hogg, 8. Eric Humphries, 9. JoJo Helberg, 10. Davey Hamilton, 11. Garrett Peterson, 12. Jimmy Riddell, 13. Marco DeGeorge, 14. Marvin Mitchell, 15. Gordon Rodgers, 16. Kyle Larson, 17. Jerry Kobza, 18. Snake Livernash. NT USAC WESTERN MIDGET FEATURE RACE RESULTS: (30 laps) 1. Tanner Swanson, 2. Billy Wease, 3. Davey Hamilton, 4. Alex Schutte, 5. Tony Hunt, 6. Garrett Hansen, 7. Scott Pierovich, 8. Nick Chivello, 9. Snake Livernash, 10. David Prickett, 11. Garrett Peterson, 12. Chad Nichols, 13. Jerome Rodela. N UNOFFICIAL NASCAR CAMPING WORLD SERIES WEST-TOYOTA / COPART 150 Results Lap length: 0.333 miles (Start position in parentheses) 1. (1) Paulie Harraka, Fairlawn, N.J., Toyota, 150 laps, 63.879 mph, $9,325. 2. (8) Eric Schmidt, Roseville, Calif., Chevrolet, 150, $5,500. 3. (7) Greg Pursley, Newhall, Calif., Chevrolet, 150, $3,000. 4. (3) Jason Bowles, Ontario, Calif., Ford, 150, $2,600. 5. (2) Moses Smith, Tempe, Ariz., Toyota, 150, $3,050. 6. (6) Brett Thompson, Jerome, Idaho, Chevrolet, 150, $2,250. 7. (9) Jim Warn, Aurora, Ore, Chevrolet, 150, $2,200. 8. (10) Chris Johnson, Claremont, Calif., Chevrolet, 150, $1,675. 9. (14) Jim Inglebright, Fairfield, Calif., Chevrolet, 150, $1,650. 10. (13) Martin McKeefery, Milpitas, Calif., Chevrolet, 150, $1,625. 11. (18) Rodd Kneeland, Sonoma, Calif., Chevrolet, 146, $1,600. 12. (20) Jim Marchino, Modesto, Calif., Ford, 145, $1,571. 13. (12) Jamie Dick, Albuquerque, N.M., Chevrolet, 144, $2,050. 14. (4) Blake Koch, West Palm Beach, Fla., Chevrolet, 144, $2,020. 15. (15) Wes Banks, Oakdale, Calif., Ford, 141, $2,000. 16. (5) Eric Holmes, Escalon, Calif., Toyota, 108, $2,550. 17. (21) Greg Rayl, Roseville, Calif., Ford, 69, brakes, $1,350. 18. (19) Jack Sellers, Sacramento, Calif., Chevrolet, 57, transmission, $1,800. 19. (11) Troy Ermish, Fremont, Calif., Chevrolet, 33, overheating, $1,700. 20. (17) Chris Scribner, Loomis, Calif., Chevrolet, 20, radiator, $1,700. 21. (16) Paul Pedroncelli, Jr., Sonoma, Calif., Chevrolet, 6, accident, $1,650. Race Statistics Time of Race: 46 minutes 55 seconds Margin of Victory: 2.774 seconds Fastest Qualifier: P.Harraka * (87.651 mph, 13.677 seconds) Caution Flags: four for 23 laps. Lead Changes: two among two drivers. Lap Leaders: P. Harraka 1-121; E. Schmidt 122; P. Harraka 123-150. Standings: 1. J. Bowles, 2158; 2. E. Holmes, 2035; 3. G. Pursley, 1978; 4. P. Harraka, 1951; 5. B. Thompson, 1805; 6. D. Mayhew, 1799; 7. M. Smith, 1766; 8. B. Koch, 1726; 9. J. Warn, 1590; 10. J. Dick, 1423.