Jr. Falcons Head To Davis For Key Games

Post Season Berths At Stake
By: (Special To The Record)
-A +A
Colfax’s Jr. Falcons picked up three wins in four games last weekend against visiting Pioneer of Woodland. This Saturday the Falcons entertain Del Campo at Colfax High with games starting at 10 a.m., 12 noon, 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. Here’s a recap of last Saturday’s games: Colfax Jr. Peewees 37 Pioneer 0 – Nick Nissen began the Colfax scoring with a four-yard run. Following the kickoff, Travyn Heimann recovered a fumble at the Pioneer's 33. Runs by Dylan Owens and Michael Lavigne led to a 2-yard scoring scamper by Heimann increasing the lead to 12-0. Owens then carried the ball on three of the next four plays taking it in from six yards to up the lead to 18-0. After holding Pioneer again, Colfax went on a 8-play drive capped when Lavigne scored from 14 yards out. A Nissen to Searcy pass conversion upped the score to 25-0. Two plays later, Lavigne picked off a Pioneer pass at the Patriots' 24. Nissen then passed 14-yards to Gannon Brothers and 5-yards to James Jefferson to put Colfax in position for a 5-yard score from Owens and a 31-0 lead. Three plays later, John Pantlick picked off a pass and returned it 60 yards to close out the scoring before halftime. Alex Weir, Julian Martello, Logan Wilkins and Caleb Howard joined in with defensive stops as the Jr. Pee Wees improved to 2-1. Colfax Peewees 30 Pioneer 0 - Colfax opened the scoring when Mason Ahrens took the ball around left end 75 yards to score and a 6-0 lead. Following a Pioneer punt, Colfax went on a six-play scoring drive with Ahrens scoring from 12-yards and a 12-0 lead. Key play of the drive was a 24-yard Ryland Heimann to Ahrens pass. Garren O'Keefe made a key block on the run. Colfax opened the third period with Will Besler forcing a fumble that was recovered by Seth McGlothlan at the Colfax 46. Ahrens scored his third touchdown just before halftime on a 50-yard run and an 18-0 lead. In the third quarter, Seth McGlothlan scooped up another Patriots' fumble. Colfax went on a 64-yard drive with Ahrens scoring again from 9-yards and a 24-0 lead. Key play was a 28-yard Heimann to Luke Baggett pass . Colfax’s swarming defense wasl ed by Besler, Nate Sawi, Dawson Hurst, Logan McGlothlan, Zach Fejes, Jake Green, Colton Reeves, Zach Forseth and Tyler Nickerson. Colfax’s final score came on a one yard run by Jake Lahaie. Pioneer Jr. Midgets 13 Colfax 12 -Colfax took the opening kickoff 50 yards with Mason Hurst scoring on a 25-yard run and 6-0 lead. In the second quarter, Colfax controlled the clock with a 14-play 58-yard drive culminating with Marc Avila scoring on a 3-yard run and 12-0 lead. Pioneer broke through in the 3rd quarter and converted to narrow the score to 12-7. With 1:06 remaining in the game, Pioneer struck again taking the lead at 13-12. Colfax then drove from their own 48 to Pioneer's 17 where an interception ended the scoring threat. Key play of the drive was a Hurst to Avila pass for 35 yards. Dallen Trentman, Anthony Griggs, Zane McDade, Matthew Harshman, Spencer Gutierrez, Jack Beeman, Matthew Wasko, Skyler Saavedra, Conor McShane and Travis Mullican all had big defensive games for the Falcons. Colfax Midgets 38 Pioneer 7 - Jeremy Cabodi recovered a fumble on Pioneer's third play of the game and one play later Timothy Rawlins ran the ball in from 51-yards for a quick 6-0 score. In the 2nd quarter, Alex Tobiasz picked off a pass at Pioneer's 7. Two plays later, Logan Hurst lobbed a 12-yard pass to Rawlins. Dalton Bannister kicked a 2-point conversion for a 14-0 lead. Opening the second half, Hurst passed to Carrick Hoffart for 9-yards. Rawlins then took off on a 43-yard run to paydirt with Bannister converting for a 22-0 lead. Tobiaz stopped the next Pioneer drive with another interception returning it to the Colfax 16. Hurst then passed to Rawlins for an 84-yard touchdown pass and then connected with Marcus Jackson on a 55-yard scoring pass. Colfax’s defense was led by Isaiah Donaldson, Sam LaHaie, Riley Stokes, Dominic Duarte, Anthony Ahrens, Lee Harrison, Patrick Beninga, Ian Gassaway and Beau Baggett.